The Azheekal Sree Varaha Temple

Situated in the vicinity of Pallippuram near Cherai, the Sree Varaha temple at Azheekal in Kerala is the only sampoornakshetra or 'complete temple' of the nagara type in South India. The Sree Varaha temple houses all the seven deities of the Gowda Saraswat Brahmins of Kerala. Azheekal forms a main settlement of Gowda Saraswat Brahmin community. And for that reason, they have established as many as 31 major temples, besides a good number of family temples here.

The idol of Sree Varaha was installed at Azheekal in 1565. Though these temples are primarily houses of worship, they also serve as centers of the community's religious, cultural and aesthetic life. Additionally, the temples have preserved the community's distinct culture, identity, mode of worship and language. The famous temple ratham (chariot) here is a rarity in temple architecture. It was dedicated to the presiding deities in 1909 and the rathaveethi (chariot's street) was also constructed. The restored temple is now maintained by the Azheekal Varaha Devaswom Board.

Download Mobile Application
Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala. All rights reserved © Kerala Tourism 2015
Copyright | Terms of Use. Developed & Maintained by Invis Multimedia.